

**Neighbors in service to southwest Travis County** 

P.O. Box 90906, Austin, Texas 78709-0906

www.ohan.org

# Oak Hill Association of Neighborhoods

Member Meeting Minutes Wednesday, November 12, 2014 ACC Pinnacle, 10th Floor, Board Room Austin, Texas

Goals: Outreach, Education, Communication

I. Meeting was called to order by President Jim Schissler at 7:10 pm.

## Member Neighborhoods Attending with an X

- Appaloosa Run Civic Association Kathy Pounds
- X Aviara Robert Tobiansky / Allen Michalski Barker Ranch - Gary Gemar / Homero Cabella
- X | Circle C Ranch Claudia Corum / Karen Hibpshman
- X Circleville NA Cheryl Grossman / Alan Watts
  Covered Bridge POA **Amanda Lavin** / Mike Conner
  Deer Park Curry Teckenbrock / Mary Eichner
  Escondera David Rhoads /
  - Estates of Loma Vista Dick Armitage / Robbie Bennett Estates of Shadow Ridge Rebeca White /
- X Gardens at Covered Bridge Diane Goodloe / M. Lindgren GK Beckett Estates Laura Faulk / James Hogan
- X Granada Hills & Estates Rick Perkins / David Richardson
- X Heights of Loma Vista **Wendell Mills** / Lila Oshatz
- X Hill Country Estates HOA David Vandlinder / R. Kleeman Lantana Southwest HOA - Brian Talley / Tanja Helms
- X Legend Oaks Dan Page /
- X Legend Oaks 2 **Darryl Pruett** / Nikki Tate
  Lewis Mountain **Aan Coleman** / Maryann Bowling
  Maple Run Wheeler Creek Woodstone Village NA Pam Rogers / Sharron Hargis

- X Meridian Rich DePalma /
- -- New Villages of Western Oaks Oak Acres NA Robert Wiley / Sage Walker
  Oak Park Subdivision Asso Ralph Weston /
  Regents Hills NA Sebastian Sadler / E. Kalbacher
- X Scenic Brook West Betsy Boyt / Tony Catania Sendera HOA – Eric Steen / David Williams Shady Hollow– Vikki Goodwin / Darin Laracuenta
- X South Windmill Run Tom Thayer / C. Cespedes X Travis Country HOA Leigh Ziegler / C. Wilcox
- -- Valley View NA Mary Davis / Smoky Holland Villages of Shady Hollow HOA Lori DeMarco
- -- Village of Western Oaks -
- X Westcreek NA James Beckett / John Mendenhall Western Oaks POA Glenn Ross / Denise Pierce
- X Westview Estates **Kevin Good** /
  - Woods of Legend Oaks HOA Katie Desikan /
- X Wyldwood-Kelywood NA Tom Bryan / L. Boardman

Bold = OHAN Board Member -- Pending Membership

## **Guests:**

Guests included: Pat Boyt, Stella Savage, Constable Sally Hernandez

## II. Presentation - Intelligent Capital Reserve Group - Tristen Cleve and David Dziadziola

The two representatives of ICRG gave a presentation on what HOAs can do to make better profit off of their Reserve Funds. Most HOAs have a conservative approach for investing their funds and with the economy as it is now there is not much income from the CD market. ICRG proposes to provide management consultancy in various investment funds that have a higher return on investment than CDs. They also help HOAs optimize their Reserve Study that requires various expenditures over time. Modifying the Reserve Study can help an HOA avoid increases in monthly dues and / or plan for future expenses by increasing monthly dues, rather than special assessments, but also keeping liquidity. More info at www.intelcapresgroup.com or 1-844-843-4274.

**III. Roll Call / Establishment of a quorum.** Sixteen Member Neighborhoods were represented out of a possible 35; so at a bylaw quorum rule of 25% + 1, a quorum was present.

- **IV. Approval of the Minutes from October.** The draft minutes had been circulated electronically in advance and a motion was made and approved for passsage of the draft minutes. Passed without comment.
- **V. Treasurer Report:** The Treasurer Amanda Lavin reported that our bank account balance was \$3,053.34 as of October 31, 2014.

#### VI. New Business:

**Elections:** President Schissler named the 4 individuals that were proposed by the Nominating Committee to become board members for the 2 year time period of Jan 2015 through Dec 2016. They are: Darryl Pruett of Legend Oaks 2, Rich De Palma of Meridian, Betsy Boyt of Scenic Brook, and Alan Watts of Circleville NA. Each candidate stood up and gave a 30 second bio of themselves and what they hoped to do for OHAN. The motion to elect this slate of candidates was made by Kevin Good and seconded by Wendell Mills. President Schissler asked for other nominations from the floor. There were none. The vote was taken and was unanimous. They will take office on January 1st, 2015

Darryl Pruett will serve as President for 2015. Rick Perkins will serve as Vice President for 2015. Rich de Palma will serve as Secretary for 2015. Alan Watts will serve as Treasurer for 2015.

**OHAN / OHBPA Christmas / Holiday Party:** The OHAN / OHBPA Christmas / Holiday Party is planned for Wed Dec 10th at a time and location to be announced. It will probably be a benefit for an Oak Hill organization in need.

## VII. Old Business: .

**Subcommittee on Oak Hill Parkway:** Robert Tobiansky gave a summary overview of the first few meetings of the Committee to develop neighborhood common desires for the Oak Hill Parkway. Cynthia Wilcox made some comments on the same process as well. This Committee is to present their results for the Membership at the January meeting for a possible vote at the February meeting.

President Schissler reminded everyone to remind their neighbors that Early Voting starts on December 1st.

President Schissler adjourned the meeting at approximately 8:23 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

R.Perkins	Approved:		
Rick Perkins, Secretary			
November 17, 2014			
ŕ	Jim Schissler, President	Date	